The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Why does the Wordstress blog and a wrap up of the week January 15, 2011

Filed under: postaweek2011,Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 8:48 am
Tags:

A recent writing prompt asked us to describe why we started a blog and if those reasons are why we continue to blog.  Interesting question!

My first blog post talked about approaching my 50th birthday.  It was not a particularly great post (although it did end up getting me the cake I wanted for my birthday — but that’s not why I wrote it).  I guess I decided that if I am every really going to write, I’d better get started.  That was nearly two years and 293 entries ago.  Now I blog to keep from giving up.  And sometimes I wonder what you’re doing here reading this stuff.  🙂 NOTE:  I edited this to correct a spelling error at once so wretched and obvious that I cannot believe it slipped through my fingers.

I think I’ve written some good entries, but by and large I do not believe myself to be a good blogger.  I’ll get there, with the encouragement of PostAWeek 2011. 

I’m sure you’re wondering how I’ve spent the end of my week, so let me fill you in. 

Thursday was a good day at Renaux’s Cafe.  I was able to get done what I wanted to do and I don’t think I distracted anyone.  Pat put up a coat of the prettiest blue I’ve ever seen back where the refrigerators will go…EXACTLY the color I wanted for my bathroom until Maya led me astray with a bad paint code (yeah, Maya…it came out GREEN!  What’s up with THAT??) and then a bright yellow on the wall where the prep table will be.  The guys worked in the seating area and what was once a really dirty looking off white fake plaster over fake bricks with a small tree mural in the corner is now about a buttermilk yellow.  Very, very pretty.  I can’t wait to see it next week after being away for a few days.  It’s really coming together and every day gets it cleaner and prettier.  I can’t wait for Sandra’s doors to open so all her friends can see what she’s been doing!

Thursday night Steve and I went to Uniquely Eustis, which in any other town would be Taste of Eustis.  It was a Eustis Mainstreet production, so the crowd was not the usual Chamber crowd that I’m used to seeing.  Highlights of the evening:  believe it or not, the crab chowder from Crispers (it may not have been the most elegant food presented but the flavor was . . . well, I couldn’t believe it was prepared by a chain operation and not fussed over lovingly in a small kitchen where the window gets steamed up when you make soup)  and Olivia’s Evening Fantasy coffee.  Also the music was very good and the silent auction items were great.  But people…when you’re bidding on silent auction items, don’t increase a bid by less than a dollar…you just make yourself look cheap.  Seating was a problem…people staked out their seats and remained there all night, so there wasn’t enough seating. But it was a good evening…saw some old favorites and found a couple places I’ll have to try.

Yesterday I put together 100 invitations for our Relay for Life kickoff and then took them to Sorrento and blitzed the area with 5 other volunteers.  It came together nicely, but no one has reported back to me yet.  Sue and I needed to talk about sponsorship stuff so we worked together and covered one side of 46.  I think we may have generated a team, and I’m certain some of the folks we talked to will be at the kickoff.   Then last night Lisa and Brett came over to dinner and to discuss a business matter with Steve.  Lisa brought a meatloaf and I made a big chef salad.  It was a nice evening, but I think we were all exhausted.

This morning I’ve unloaded the dishwasher, made a pot of coffee, and made a batch of laundry detergent. I have no idea what I’ll end up doing today but tomorrow we’re going to Crystal River with another Miata couple.  It’s been cold enough that the manatees should be in evidence, but even if they’re not, I’m looking forward to the adventure. 

It’s a quiet morning and I’m going to go enjoy that coffee.  Have a good weekend, readers, and let me hear from you!

 

2 Responses to “Why does the Wordstress blog and a wrap up of the week”

  1. Sandra Renaux Says:

    Love your blogs

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      I have no idea why, but I’m glad you visit. 🙂 Glad it’s letting you comment again.


Leave a Reply

