The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Another post and it’s not even next week January 4, 2011

Filed under: This makes me laugh,writing — eastlakecounty @ 1:39 pm

Last night I had the strangest dream and I’ve just got to share it. (Dammit…that link was supposed to link to a different song, but Sparrow is lovely, too, so just enjoy it.)

Steve and I were on a train headed somewhere fun.  I don’t know where, I just know we were going to have a great day together.  Somehow, the train was not moving on tracks and the whole area was flooded, so much so that when we began to go uphill on a bridge, the waters covered the bridge.  I kept trying to tell Steve something was not right, but he didn’t appear worried so I just kept looking out the windows in amazement.  Then, my former boss (she whose name will not be mentioned because just her name terrifies me still) was outside yelling something at us…I flipped her off and in my dream I thought that was really rude but it sure felt good.  With no explanation, we were suddenly IN THE FLOOD, swimming in the same direction we were originally headed.  The waters were so strong that when Steve stood up his clothes had been washed off.  See, I told you it was going to be a great day!  Anyway, somehow we ended up perched in a tree.  It was quite comfortable and we were in no danger of falling out, which is a good thing because on the ground below us was a HUGE cheetah.  You will find out how huge later, but trust me, it was large enough to make an impression even during this bizarre dream.  In the tree with us were a vulture, a dove and some other bird that did not really matter and I don’t know what it was.  I grabbed the vulture’s beak to make him face the opposite way and then the dove started pecking at Steve’s arm.  From our branch, we could see the side of a building and in one of those convenient dream transitions, we were then IN that building.  The far side was open to the outside and we were sitting at a table near the opening.  It was a bar and we were sitting at a heavy wooden rectangular table looking outside because it was now night and meteors were falling.  Three very bright meteors fell and the last one was a spectacular blue fireball, so of course we had to go chase it…because it landed in what looked like a rock formation from the desert southwest…a high spire with an opening that the blue light was shining through.  So, we got to the rock formation and there was a handy dandy staircase.  While very wide, the stairs were not deep enough to get your foot on…maybe a fingertip.  Neither of us could imagine climbing that way so we went around to the back and started climbing the rocks.  About half way up, we decided this was a very bad idea.  For some reason the blue light was now very frightening, as opposed to fascinating.  Another dream transition and we were back at the table looking at Steve’s wallet which had somehow been restored to him after the flood.  Now, at least, maybe he could buy some clothes.  The dream ended with us walking through a hallway in what I guess was a mall. 

I woke up and started replaying this dream because it seemed so long and was so interesting that I didn’t want to forget it.  During that process, I must have fallen back asleep because I was now in another dream, describing the dream to Aslan.  If you’re at all well read, you know that Aslan is the Christ-lion from C.S.Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia.  At one point, I told him the cheetah’s head (remember the cheetah under the tree?) was as big as his own.

Wow.  No wonder I’m sometimes exhausted when I wake up.

I understand where some of the elements of the dream came from, but I really don’t have any idea what it means.  The Boss From Hell was in the dream because I’m anxious about my new job, which has been mine and then not mine and now appears to be mine again but I still don’t have confirmation…very confusing and frustrating, just like working for the Boss From Hell.  We were on a train because Rick Scott is being inaugurated today and he opposes high speed rail.  The blue light came from a show I was watching called Ghosts of Gettysburg…one of the apparitions appeared as a column of blue light.  I was having a conversation with Aslan because sometimes when I wake up in the middle of the night I know that God needs to tell me something.  But what the heck do all these pieces mean when you put them together?

This will ultimately become a short fantasy story, but you’ve just received it raw and unedited.  I’d love to hear what you think, and welcome to the insides of my sleeping brain.

 

4 Responses to “Another post and it’s not even next week”

  1. Sandra Renaux Says:

    What I want to know is…..What the HE*** did you have for dinner last night?

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      We had chicken with Arron’s special butter…baked on a bed of mushrooms. Nothing out of the ordinary. Maybe the mushrooms were psilocybin? The part that I love the most is that I got to tell the whole dream over in another dream! Wild!

  2. Maya Says:

    Is Steve like the Geico Gecko? He has his wallet handy even w/ no pants pockets? Or for that matter, no pants?

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      He’s much cuter than the Geiko Gecko and has never, to my knowledge, been accosted in a hotel bar by someone who has mistaken him for “Stanley”. . .


Leave a Reply

