The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Some things that make me smile January 3, 2011

Filed under: PostaWeek,postaweek2011 — eastlakecounty @ 9:20 pm
Tags:

One of the suggested prompts for the PostaDay and PostaWeek Challenge is to write about something that makes me smile.

I’ve been categorizing some old photos and found some that not only make me smile but make me laugh out loud.  But before we get to that, here’s a caveat.  I’ve tried to be careful here about being mindful of who may be reading (with a couple of notable sloppy slips) so that I don’t hurt feelings or tell secrets that I shouldn’t be telling.  I know most, but not all, of my readers, and since you’re friends, it’s not my mission to piss you off…but this year it will happen.  I’m going to stop being afraid of writing. I’m going to write.  That means eventually I’m going to make a huge mistake and I’ll just ask your forgiveness right here and now. When it happens, please feel free to call me on the carpet, here or privately.  We’ll both survive.

Okay, on to things that make me smile.

This is a picture of the last Christmas I spent with my Mom and Dad and brother and sister.  It was one of the best Christmases of my life.  So naturally these photos make me smile. That was nine years ago. 

Steve and Alex make me smile.  They routinely see me at my worst and love me anyway. My friends make me smile.   This is heading for boring very quickly, so how about if I share some of the off the wall stuff that makes me smile?  Chickens.  Chickens make me smile because they are cheerful birds and fun to watch.  Anoles make me smile because they are so territorial and tough…they look at me as if to say, “Back off, woman…this is MY porch!” Killdeer and beautyberries. Good coffee makes me smile, but that’s probably not a surprise.  Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey, Elmore Leonard and Laurence Shames all make me smile, as do Dorothy Parker and James Thurber.  Mean humor in small doses.  Constant Comment.  Fried grits.

Here’s hoping we all have lots to smile about this year.  We can use it.

 

3 Responses to “Some things that make me smile”

  1. eastlakecounty Says:

    I have to mention that I’ve put on quite a bit of weight since this picture was taken. By the end of this year I hope to have lost most of it. On his deathbed, my father mentioned how thin I was at the time this picture was taken; it clearly distressed him even though I think I looked terrific. I’ve used that as an excuse to eat my sorrows away for the past seven years…that’s long enough and it stops now.

  2. bambipoppins Says:

    There are no mistakes in writing. Only things to help us learn 🙂

  3. […] I got a truly lovely e-mail today from a friend who had THIS: “I enjoyed seeing your family photo in your blog recently.  One day we will ALL look younger, be in good health, have unbroken relationships and no sin to deal with because God will wipe away all our tears (and I am looking forward to that!)….” to say about THIS.  […]


Leave a Reply

