The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Louisa Jennelle, I miss you. June 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 5:04 pm

So this afternoon I was visiting with my friend Pat and we were talking about her daughter in law. I mentioned that my mother in law was none too sure about me in the beginning but eventually stopped referring to me as her son’s wife and started calling me her daughter. Not her daughter in law…her daughter.

And then I started crying. Maybe I really AM a basket case.

No, not really. There’s no need to worry, I promise.

Lately, I am just missing people I can’t talk to anymore. I think this may be a good thing, indirectly. I think it means I’m processing some losses that I really haven’t dealt with. So if the pain is all fresh again, this time I can feel it and move forward.

I think it’s interesting that the only death I feel like I’ve fully processed is Steve’s Dad, Dean. We actually talked about his death before it happened. Of course, I’d still love to have a chat with Dean, but it doesn’t leave a big gaping wound to think about it.

Becky, my unpaid analyst, what do you think that means?

 

3 Responses to “Louisa Jennelle, I miss you.”

  1. eastlakecounty Says:

    I know that I was crying because I had a closer relationship with my MIL than with my mother, Becky. That much I’ve figured out. 😉

  2. Sandra Says:

    The tears happen. Endure, grieve, and move on.. The only person, who is with us our entire life, is ourselves. Be ALIVE while you are alive.

    George
    … Carlin

  3. becky Says:

    Pam, I think that you just made me cry. I think that you processed that one correctly. For as much as you don’t know how to get it, you’d really like to have a relationship with your Mom. But maybe you’re ready, and she’s not. I think that you still haven’t gotten over your Dad’s death. Some people I think that are souls are just closer to. I also think that now that we are facing more people getting to ‘that age’, it stares us in the face. (I say we, because I’ve really been teary alot lately too…..maybe our hormones have something to do with it too.)


Leave a Reply

