The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Well, crap. June 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 4:38 am

Insomnia…I hate it.  Headaches…I hate them.  Frogs…they are REALLY noisy this year.  I am in a truly pissy mood right now.  Aren’t you glad you checked in?

I can’t sleep, obviously, and I just know this means I have one helluva headache in my immediate future.  Once again, I am thanking God for Imitrex…and for Costco which makes Imitrex affordable for me.

Update for those who are keeping track:

Relay is over for 2010 and I am beyond pleased with what our community did.  We raised over $18,000 and yesterday I collected nearly $800 more!  Three weeks before our Relay I was ready to chuck the whole thing but now I can’t wait for next year.

I have just cleaned out my e-mail inbox.  I went from 27 pages to 3, and I will get it down to 1 tomorrow when I print some stuff and file it away.   Somehow e-mail has become a burden instead of a pleasure.  I’m not sure when this happened.  I have also noticed that I am having to get help more and more on computer stuff…I always used to be the one people ASKED for help, so this is a little disconcerting.  I must admit, I like being the “fixer” and not being able to fix stuff or answer questions just pisses me off.

I have not been to church in over a year.  This is just ridiculous.  I still am not sure what I’ll do about this except keep praying.  You could join me, if you’d like, and I’d appreciate that.

Got some tomatoes off my tomato bushes.  Last night we had some with olive oil and fresh basil (also from the garden).  Really wonderful stuff.  This weekend we are having some garden beds built (it’s a barter deal…it’s not like we go around hiring people to do stuff we could do for ourselves) and I hope to put in more tomatoes this fall.  I am also looking at potatoes.

I am VERY sad to hear that Al and Tipper Gore are separating.  Over 40 years of marriage, and they’ve “grown apart”…how does that happen?  After forty years, you should have finally figured out how to deal with the stuff you thought you’d never learn to deal with (because if you haven’t learned it, you probably hate your spouse!), it should be hard to sleep without a head on the other pillow…I don’t know.  To me this is just incredibly sad.  Of course, they are not the only long-time married couple who announced that they are separating…just the most visible.  I remember when Clinton-Gore came to Orlando and Tipper ran across the stage taking pictures of the crowd…good times.  I wish they could all be good.

Oh!  I know what I haven’t talked about here.  I signed up for an online writing course, you know…the kind where you pay for each lesson as you complete it…anyway, it’s really fun.  This course is supposed to walk you through producing a novel and getting it ready for submission.  Before I signed up I told the guy I really am not sure I have a  novel in me but I’m bursting with character sketches and vignettes…he said he’d work with me and while the course is geared toward novels I can do a collection of shorter pieces.  VERY inexpensive, VERY fun. 

We are adjusting to Alex’s absence.  Slowly, slowly the house is getting clean.  Little by little I’m emptying cupboards and drawers. 

Ah…and now I’m feeling drowsy.  In an hour the alarm will go off and all I will want to do is sleep.  I wonder if I should just stay up?  But there’s something appealing about the thought of climbing into my cozy beddy-bye and feeling Steve roll over and either put his arm around me or throw a leg over my legs.  Let me tell you something…if he tries to “grow apart” from me,  there’s going to be big trouble around here.

Thanks for checking in.  I think I’m getting a handle on things again. We’ll see how long that lasts.

 

Leave a Reply

