The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

I shall not be burned. February 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 7:40 am

In spite of the raging chaos on the other side of the gate at the end of my driveway, I woke up with a clear sense of how blessed I am. 

The world’s best husband was snoozing beside me after spending a late night helping me figure out a problem and beside him, what will surely become the world’s best dog was curled up on his bed that’s fit for a canine king. 

Brushing my teeth, I heard Amy, our bathtub chicken, starting her day by pecking at her feeder. She’s making a good recovery, and much faster than I ever expected — a small miracle, but a miracle nonetheless.

When I left the comfort of my bedroom for the kitchen, my beautiful cats started their figure eights around my ankles.  This will probably lead to a broken hip one of these days but by then the health care debate will be settled so we’ll cross that particular bridge when we get to it.  And in my kitchen, stocked with more food than we could eat in a month, it didn’t take long to get the coffee started and the computer fired up.  Down the hall, I know the world’s best daughter is sleeping soundly, safe and warm and dreaming of the love of her life. 

Yes, the little nucleus I enjoy is a wonderful place, but it is nothing I’ve earned or created for myself.  What it is is a miracle of grace.  In spite of what this day may bring, for the moment, I know I am well and truly loved.

Here’s the promise I have about today: When I pass through the waters, God will be with me; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow me. When I walk through the fire, I shall not be burned, nor shall the flame scorch me.  And with the day I have ahead of me, I’m sure I’ll be passing through more than my share of waters and walking through a whole heap o’ fires.

That promise is found in Isaiah 43:2, if you’re wondering, and it’s going to remind me all day long that I could not be in a better place on this earth than the one I’m in.  Even on the other side of the gate at the end of my driveway.

 

Leave a Reply

