The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Well, that’s that then. On several counts. January 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 7:14 pm

1. Today I laid off my assistant.  Actually, our Board President did it (and I’m nothing but grateful).  I was expecting an awful morning, but really, I think my assistant was relieved.  I know I am.

2. There’s a thing on Facebook that says “I’m sorry, but I’m allergic to bullshit.”  I love that.  Some kinds of bullshit are fun, like smack-talking when it’s just you and a pal and you know it’s going no further, even though there may be more productive ways to deal with situations, but in general, I’m not a fan of bullshit.

I know I’m not perfect, really…I’m far from perfect and I could go into a long list of my shortcomings right here but that’s not my point.  My point is that WOW have I come a long way in the past few years, and I really am almost allergic to some kinds of bullshit.  Especially the sort that requires one to pull the wool over an innocent party’s eyes.  Not comfortable with that, don’t want to live in that place again. 

3. Tomorrow the County Commission will vote on whether to transmit the Comp Plan to the DCA.  The fact that the public has had about two weeks to review a several hundred page document…well, who cares, we’re just the public, right?  I really hate it that anyone who says anything against this document is accused of being in a developer’s pocket.  Especially since I used to consider myself an environmentalist (until this crap came along).

4. I can’t tell you why, but my husband is hugely my hero today.  Also, he smells really really good right now.

 

Leave a Reply

