The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Hmm. There may be some merit to this “time off” thing. November 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 2:41 pm

Lately I have been taking some time off in the afternoons.  I like it. 

We have been watching a lot of Bones lately.  I did not like this show at all when I first started watching, but now I really enjoy it.  I still find the title character totally unbelieveable as a real person, but that’s why we learn to suspend disbelief, I guess…so we can enjoy unbelievable stuff.

I am making my first batch of wassail.  It smells amazing.  Sandra and I are doing the refreshments for the Lake County Radio ribbon cutting/multi chamber holiday kickoff thing, and Sandra has never had wassail.  I don’t know how you can be a caterer without a good wassail recipe, so I’m making a batch for her and then I’ll give her my recipe and she can tinker with it until she finds something she likes.  There is nothing like the smell of wassail, except maybe applesauce being cooked down.

The chickens…oh, my poor chickens are moulting and they look AWFUL.  Steve came in laughing the other day and said one of the wyandottes looks like she’s been in a bar brawl.  I thought he was exaggerating until I saw her.  Yep, she looks pretty rough…no feathers on her neck and her poor body….oh, jeez, there’s no describing it.  I’ll try to get pictures.

We went to The King’s Feast at the Renaissance Faire.  It was so much fun!  I thought it would be okay but not great and I really expected the food to be miserable, but it was amazing fun and the food was spectacular! 

Let’s see…what else…oh, Relay is coming along nicely.  I’m looking forward to our Community Kickoff. 

Sandra and I are going to do a Pilgrims Potluck at her house for Thanksgiving.  It will be fun, but I’m sort of sorry Steve and Alex and I won’t be doing our picnic.  We had thought about doing crabcakes, but since we’re going to Sandra’s, I’ll roast a beautiful turkey.  And of course, I’ll take wassail.  So much to be thankful for this year!  It really has been an interesting, if difficult, year.  I have enjoyed having Steve around — that’s what I have enjoyed the most.  I know he wishes he still had his nice steady job with the great bennies, but gosh, it’s nice having him around.

Ramble, ramble, ramble.

 

 

One Response to “Hmm. There may be some merit to this “time off” thing.”

  1. maya Says:

    better to ramble, ramble ramble than grumble, grumble grumble.


Leave a Reply

