The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Wow – I didn’t see this coming. September 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 9:58 pm
Tags: , ,

I had a lunch appointment today with the local representative of the American Cancer Society. 

To make a long story short, I am now chairing the inaugural Sorrento Relay for Life.  I can’t believe it.  Not only does the American Cancer Society NOT want to lump Sorrento in with Mount Dora, but they are excited about bringing Relay to our community.  When she told me this I choked up, no kidding, I had tears in my eyes.  It’s such great recognition for us.

Unfortunately, I guess I was a little too enthusiastic and when she asked if I would consider chairing the event, I couldn’t say no.  On behalf of my mother in law, my Dad,my cousin Pat, my friend Diane, my friend Vicki, my friend Ray, my friend’s wife Kim, my friend Becky’s mom…oh, the names are too many to list.  What an honor.

So I guess I’ll be busy for the next eight months.

 

2 Responses to “Wow – I didn’t see this coming.”

  1. Julie Says:

    Would love to get involved too. Count me in as helping out!

  2. eastlakecounty Says:

    JULIE!!!! I’m so glad! Let’s get together after next week and I can show you all the committees and see where you’d be most comfortable.


Leave a Reply

