The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

You’ve always wanted to tell me where to go… August 5, 2009

Filed under: Vacations — eastlakecounty @ 7:26 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Steve and I are notoriously cheap thrifty travelers.  One of the attractions of camping for me is that there’s more money to spend on worthless junk and food.  So of course whenever we get one of those marvelous yellow postcards saying that someone has been trying to reach us by phone but since they can’t (HA HA HA we are SO easy to reach by phone!  We have a millon phones and all  of them have voicemail) if we will just call them within 72 hours we will not only win coach airfare to any airport in the continental US and a three day two night stay in a Mariott hotel, but they’ll throw in some gift cards for the Darden restaurant of our choice…well, let me tell you, we make a mad dash for the closest of those million phones and dial like fiends until we finally reach the person who kindly assists us in arranging a 90 minute tour of the latest time share.  Actually, we’ve never actually used the airline tickets before but I think we’re both lately afflicted with the feeling that a trip on a plane must be wonderful, even if it’s just to Palatka (no offense, Palatka, I just mean you’re close to home, okay?).

This time it’s not a time share but a home buying club…I don’t get it but after Saturday morning I’ll be an expert and you can ask me any questions you may have.

But here’s what I need your help with.  Where should we go for our fabulous three day two night stay?  For some reason I’m thinking Nashville or Memphis (and now I’ll have Mark Cohn’s “Walking in Memphis” stuck in my head for the rest of the day, but there are worse ear worms one can have and I guess if I sing it in the shower it might go away).  I’ve never been to Nashville.  What about the Dakotas?  I’d love to go there.  I don’t think I’ve ever been to Kentucky.  I’m thinking Pensacola might be nice but don’t want to use free airline tickets for an in-state flight.  I don’t want to go too far because it’s just a weekend thing…but I don’t want to go too close, either.

This is your chance.  You know you’ve always wanted to tell me where to go…now I’m actually asking for it!

Becky is a genius at this kind of stuff.  But I want everyone’s suggestions because, as you know, where to spend a long weekend is one of the most important life decisions one can make.  Please don’t let me down.

Kthxbai.  Sorry.  I just had to say that.  I don’t know why.  I think perhaps I am not sufficiently caffienated this morning.

 

2 Responses to “You’ve always wanted to tell me where to go…”

  1. becky Says:

    Thanks for the compliment, I want to be a travel guide in my next life! While I love North Carolina and Tennessee, you can drive to them in less than a day. If you’re getting free airline tix, make the most of them, and save the closer stuff for another time. I know how much you love nature….any natural wonders in the USA that you’ve missed? I KNow you’ve done the Grand. Bethany’s on a kick about needing to see Yellowstone. I’d like the family to see Niagra Falls. I wish we’d seen Denver when we were out west. Get out (look up) a map of the US, and review to see if anywhere pops to mind of places you’ve always wanted to see. This is where that ‘Bucket List’ comes in handy! (what a great chore to have on your plate!) ENJOY

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      See, everyone, I KNEW Becky would be all over this. 🙂

      That’s one bad thing about the internet…I no longer have a road atlas because it’s so easy to get up to the minute info on roads. But it’s fun to physically pull out a map and just imagine what’s down some of those roads. Maybe I’ll run by a bookstore and remedy this previously unnoticed lack in my life.

      Niagara Falls! I think you might have done it, Becky!

      Bucket lists give me the creeps. I think because it implies that some day everything I want to do will be done, and that seems so sad. I think this may be a blog entry in and of itself.

      But if I don’t get in the shower right now I will either be late for work or on time but smelly. TMI, anyone?


Leave a Reply

