The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

More of God’s Handiwork June 13, 2009

In the middle of our waterfall adventure, Steve asked which I liked better, Arizona or North Carolina…I’d hate to have to choose. I like the North Carolina weather better but as much as I enjoyed the waterfalls, I must admit that the Arizona scenery totally won my heart.

Having said that, here are some beautiful things I saw. You’ll see no pictures of mountains here. The details captivated me, but the mountains themselves were interesting only when the clouds were right down on them…otherwise I really don’t have much use for them. I am a flatlander, I guess.

Enjoy!

Wild Rose

Wild Rose

Isn't this beautiful?  I can't believe we used to kill them.

Isn't this beautiful? I can't believe we used to kill them.

I wish the detail of the individual petals had come out better, but the COLOR is perfect!  This made me want to plant a field of dandelions.
Bridal Veil Falls, looking up

Bridal Veil Falls, looking up

When we first saw these falls, I just lost it.  I was so overwhelmed by the road (64 heading east out of Franklin)…it was pretty intense and I think I was just emotionally drained by the ride.  So between that and this unexpected miracle on the side of the road, there was nothing to do but cry.
How can something so amazing just be on the side of the road?  There should have been a parade, trumpets, Uncle Sam on stilts . . . something to announce that  an amazing sight was just around the bend.  But no.  No warning at all, just this amazing thing on the side of the road.
Bridal Veil Falls 2
I’d love to have a shower like this in my back yard.
The sound of the water hitting the rocks below was wonderful.  A hammock behind this fall would be perfect!
Believe it or not, there was a dirty diaper stashed in the cave behind the fall.
I hope we’ll get to go back, I really do.  The people in Franklin are so friendly, and I’d like to poke about a bit more.  I somehow lost all my pictures of downtown Franklin…there was a beautiful yarn store where they spin and weave…just lovely stuff. 
 
Okay, here’s just one more because I think it’s so beautiful:
Lovely Queen Anne's Lace Against a NC Sky

Lovely Queen Anne's Lace Against a NC Sky

 

Leave a Reply

