The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Of Sheep and Bees June 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 3:23 pm

The sheep will be heading home this afternoon. Their owner called last night, very relieved because she thought Fred and Ethel had fallen victim to a coyote that’s been in the area. I am sad but sort of relieved, too, because I have no idea how to care for sheep.

The bees! I didn’t open the hive this weekend…there was just no good opportunity to do it calmly and since I don’t want to get stung I decided to wait. But this morning, I noticed that all the bees entering the coop had breadbaskets just FULL of pollen! This tells me (at least this is what I THINK is happening) that the bees have made enough cells to put pollen in.

Georgia, my next door neighbor, has apparently left a message on my answering machine that has Steve and Alex laughing so hard they can’t even tell me about it. All I know is, it’s something to do with chickens and it’s not bad. So I should be looking forward to hearing it but instead I’m just demolished because I can’t hear it until after 9:00 tonight.

Alex is traveling to Boston early tomorrow morning. Prayers for traveling mercies would be appreciated by her Mom. 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Of Sheep and Bees”

  1. Sandra Says:

    You must learn how to listen to your messages remotely. I hate to think of you feeling demolished. If you have Embarq, call your home #, when your voice mail answers, hit * and follow the prompt to hear your voice mail.

  2. maya Says:

    Pam, it is not fair to leave us hanging without telling us at least the jist of the message!

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      I didn’t even know the gist of the message!

      Basically, Georgia called and said she had enjoyed watching the enormously large white chickens that had been walking around the yard. 🙂

      I guess you had to be there, but it was REALLY funny.


Leave a Reply

