The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

In Which the Wordstress Finds it Necessary to Bang Her Head Against the Wall May 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 2:48 pm
Today is not my favorite day.

Today is not my favorite day.

It has been raining for days on end, which is great because we need the rain so badly but bad because with my tendency toward depression the gloom is starting to get to me even though I’m grateful for the rain.

My office has a leak in the roof. The landlord is leaving for North Carolina in the morning. He is not nearly as concerned about the water dripping from the light fixture as I am. Fortunately, the leak is in the bathroom where we don’t need more light than the window provides.

The Chamber’s rental property has a leak in the roof, a persistent leak that has been the bane of my existence for two years. The library manager is running out of patience.

Another Sorrento business is biting the dust. A business that employs really nice people.

A friend has a leak in her roof and the referrals I made didn’t work out for her. I finally had to refer a non-chamber member, who can at least get a tarp up for her.

There is still only very limited activity around the bee hive. The pool is full of drowned toads. I feel like some sort of awful Mistress of Death — animals, beware…I know I’m not responsible for all of it but I worry about it anyway.

But look, there’s always something positive to say, right? So I’m just going to dwell on this: my husband and cousin got together to do something very nice for me and the next time I have a migraine it won’t be unmedicated.

I am on my way to a meeting of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Margaritas.

Lovely lovely lime

Lovely lovely lime

I won’t be drowning my sorrows because a) that would remind me of the drowned toads and b) I have a meeting at 7:00 tonight. But it will be fun to see the Sisterhood and a Diet Coke will taste just as good if I ask for a lime wedge.

 

Leave a Reply

