The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

BEES!! May 14, 2009

Filed under: Bees — eastlakecounty @ 4:37 pm
Tags:

My bees have finally arrived! I’ve been on pins and needles since yesterday, worried that they would be delivered to my house and no one would be home…but I needn’t have worried. There’s a big DO NOT DELIVER sticker on the box…they came in the regular mail!

I had to go to downtown Eustis to get them and let me tell you what. Three pounds of bees make A LOT of noise when they are tired and hungry and road weary. I have sprayed them with sugar water and will do that again before we leave for the Mt. Plymouth Landowners League meeting. I’ll hive them before I go to bed. This is really exciting. I didn’t realize that the box would be wood with heavy duty screened sides…it’s like a little bee cage. A very loud bee cage.

I will post pictures tomorrow. I put the hive out back by the chicken coop so all my girls can be together. The only thing I have left to do is put a bird bath or other water source out there because I really don’t want them watering from the pool.

I don’t even know what else to say! Thank you to everyone who has listened to me go on and on about the coop and the top bar way of raising bees and how much I love beeswax and how great bees are even though I know very little about them. 🙂 Thank you to the group of friends who has been praying for these bees. I hope they’ll be happy!

 

6 Responses to “BEES!!”

  1. Sandra Says:

    All I can say is, “Good Luck”. May it bee everything you expected.

  2. Alex Says:

    I am just dying to make this joke to someone, anyone:

  3. Moranna Says:

    You’ve had the bees about a year now – how are they? and, more to the point, how are you?

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      I am sorry to say that my bee adventure did not end well. Through a series of calamities, I lost both of my hives. I will try again, but not this year. We’ve added a new dog to the family and he’s taking lots to time. Between the dog and my chickens and my job, I’m juggling more than I should.

      I look forward to having bees again, though. I loved them and found them strangely relaxing…probably because I knew I couldn’t approach them when I was agitated myself. 🙂 So it’s a fortunate thing that I don’t have bees right now…we’d ALL be miserable.


Leave a Reply

