The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

If I were an Actress, I’d Really Like to Be Meryl Streep May 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 5:53 am
Tags: ,

Last night Alex and I rented a couple of movies…Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and then just so Steve wouldn’t think we were totally self-indulgent, Doubt.

We watched Doubt last night. Meryl Streep is an actress who can do no wrong (okay…maybe Death Becomes Her, but maybe not, too. And I never saw Bridges of Madison County because the book was so treacly sweet my teeth nearly fell out), and in this movie she was extraordinarily amazing. The woman can do anything with her face. I would never, ever, ever want her made at me…or at least, I would never want Sister Aloysius not on my side. The final scene was incredible. I am not a movie reviewer and so that’s all I can say…it was just incredible. Philip Seymour Hoffman as Father Flynn was also very good, but Streep’s character was, to me, so much more interesting. I believe both of them wanted what was best for their flocks, but they had such different ways of getting there, and Aloysius was so hard on the outside with just these little glimpses of her humanity that a lesser actress could have never made her a sympathetic character.

One really interesting juxtaposition of scenes showed two priests and the …not the bishop…I forget who’s over the parish priests, but anyway it was that guy. The three of them were at the beautifully set dinner table with a beautiful roast, wine, lush produce…they’re laughing and one of them is smoking, the head guy has bits of that gorgeous red silk around his black robes…while the nuns are all dressed in those severe black Sisters of Charity habits with bonnets, milk to drink, very austere table, no conversation…but it’s not my church so who am I to judge.

If you have not seen this movie, you probably should.

As a matter of fact, now that I’ve watched Streep as this severe, nearly frozen nun, I’d really like to watch Mamma Mia again. What a gift that woman has.

I don’t think Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist is going to be as moving.

 

Leave a Reply

