The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

The Valley Song April 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 6:03 pm

I love this song.

The first time I heard this song I was on my way to work. It was within a couple weeks of my Dad’s death and I had just started listening to Christian radio. I had to pull over because I couldn’t stop crying. It took me a couple of days to get the name of the band and then another day to find the song on CD. I still listen to this song A LOT.

The name of the band, Jars of Clay, has significance for me because at my father-in-law’s funeral, the officiant did not know Dean and preached a sermon about how Dean’s body was just a fragile jar of clay. This infuriated me. At the time, I did not know that the fragile jars of clay hold great treasures…the fragile part was all I heard and I was just so mad that this guy thought Dean’s body was fragile after all it had gone through. Yep, being a big dope seems to be a theme in my life.

At any rate, this song has been on my mind all day and I thought I’d share with you. He does lead us through valleys of sorrow. He won’t allow us to bypass sorrow, but he also doesn’t make us go there alone. And amazingly, after those valleys, there are rivers of joy! There are rivers of joy and we can dive down deep into those cool waters and surface refreshed and revitalized and deeply, deeply joyful.

praiseOur God is an awesome God. I am still blown away when I realize that not merely my name but my very being is engraved on his hands, that out of all his creatures he knows me and loves me, and that the brokenness I carry is okay with him…he’ll take care of it in his own time. I am so grateful that he forgives me my impatience, that he fully understands it because he gave it to me…grateful that he taught me to life up my hands in praise and that I have so much to praise him for.

 

Leave a Reply

