The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

In Which Sandra Wins the Wordstress’ First Contest April 16, 2009

Filed under: chickens — eastlakecounty @ 7:41 pm

I know that all my readers will join me in extending congratulations to Sandra, who correctly answered the question “Should I get three more chickens?” Sandra said, basically, “Well, sure, iffen ya want to!” Sandra doesn’t talk like that, by the way. She is very proper (but not as proper as she appears…don’t let her fool you).

So now I have a very important decision to make. Do I get two Buff Orpingtons and one Black Astrolorp or two BAs and one BO? Life is just one difficult decision after another, but it will be worth it when I get those little peepers home. I think it’s going to be two Astrolorps and one Orpington. But who knows what’s really going to happen…it could be a repeat of last year where I started with three and ended up going to pick up 9 and coming home with eleven and then having the woman at the hardware store give me another one. Except I only have room to add 3 adult chickens, so I guess that’s the limit. I think. But who knows…

Steve, bless his heart, just rolled his eyes when I told him I’m increasing the flock by 30%.

Yes, today has definitely been better than the rest of the week.

 

2 Responses to “In Which Sandra Wins the Wordstress’ First Contest”

  1. Alex Says:

    I was totally NOT trying to get you in hot water during dinner! I can’t wait to meet your new girls tomorrow. :> What will you call them?!

  2. eastlakecounty Says:

    No hot water…the decision had already been made, just not announced. And let’s face it…your Dad knew I was getting those chickens as soon as he realized the strange sound he heard at Tractor Supply was a several troughs full of peeps. The only reason I didn’t come home with chicks on Wednesday is they were straight run chicks and I really don’t want to deal with roosters.

    La la la…it’s chicken day.


Leave a Reply

