The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

In Which the Wordstress Comes to Believe Something Wonderful is Happening April 11, 2009

I Love the Easter Bunny

I Love the Easter Bunny

Well, oh my goodness! The drum circle didn’t come off as planned but other than that I think this month’s Second Saturday in Sorrento surpassed all my expectations.

We started the day with the Chamber’s Easter Egg Hunt…it went off without a hitch except that one of our prize winners didn’t stay to pick up their gigantor stuffed bunny…we think they don’t realize they won. I hope when they see the piece of paper in their plastic egg that they realize they’re a winner!

She found a lucky egg and won this bear!

She found a lucky egg and won this bear!

Become Eco set up the most beautiful produce display I’ve ever seen. I don’t think anyone visited the market without being drawn to their colorful bounty! I am so pleased that they had a good time and will be back next month! Our community needs a great produce market now that Bertha’s has closed and I think Become Eco is the best produce available if you don’t grow your own.

Have I mentioned how much I love radishes?

Have I mentioned how much I love radishes?

Sorrento has a LOCAL PRODUCE Co-op!

Sorrento has a LOCAL PRODUCE Co-op!

By Special Requests was on hand serving great chili and what I have decided should be the Signature Snack of Second Saturday in Sorrento (5S as Alex says): Chili Cheese Fritos — there’s a recipe here but plan to have Sandra make you some at the next Second Saturday in Sorrento.

nom nom nom

nom nom nom

Rolling Thunder Productions did a great job with the sound, as usual, and Mike Hanley showed Alex how to play a didgeridoo. I hope Mike has stopped kicking himself because the drum circle didn’t work out; just looking at the small piece of this drum set up was fascinating and I can’t wait until we the circle off the ground.

Sorrento Christian Center served biscuits and gravy, First Baptist Church of Sorrento had beautiful baked goods again, and even little Sorrento Presbyterian Church was there.

Congratulations to Karina “Cat” Rumland, who won Best In Show in the Fine Art category at this year’s Lake County Fair…she is one of our regulars at Second Saturday, and I’m tickled to death because she’s our “high class” artist who is learning as much from us as we are from her!. Cat in a Box Designs continues to surprise me; Cat has an amazing imagination and I believe she was born to work with polymer clay.

No WONDER Cat won Best in Show (Fine Art Category)!

No WONDER Cat won Best in Show (Fine Art Category)!

EvilGlass had Dawn’s gorgeous handmade glass beads on display. Her Chinese silk knotted necklaces have come in and it’s amazing how different two beads of similar color and pattern can look when they’re used with a different color of silk.

Gracie Layne Bead Shop was with us again and Gracie has some great beading kits for kids (and not-so-kids!) who want to try their hand at simple beading.

Tony Grigg, Ron Holman, Lou Fabrizio: The Three Amigos

Tony Grigg, Ron Holman, Lou Fabrizio: The Three Amigos

Dana Speakmon had her Tupperware on display…Tupperware never ceases to amaze me with their beautiful colors, and I got two smidgets so you know I have a big ole grin on my face. 🙂

I know I haven’t remembered anyone…I’m tired and cranky and don’t feel like typing anymore. If I missed you, I’ll get to you next month! In the meantime, here are some photos for you to enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

