The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

In Which the Wordstress Experiences a Whole ‘Nother Style of Pen March 26, 2009

Filed under: Bees — eastlakecounty @ 4:01 pm
Tags: , , , ,

After I pierced my nose, I thought I had gone about as far as I’d ever go along the body modification road. But a couple of years ago, out of nowhere, I started wanting a small tattoo. I’ve admired tattoos on other people (my brother in law has the cutest whale ever on his low belly) but never really wanted one of my own…until one day I thought a small red octopus might be just the thing.

When my friend Joyce heard this, she put her amazing graphic design skills to work and designed a really pretty red octopus for me. I was in the process of trying to decide where to actually put it on my body when Joyce also designed my birthday party invitation, which had a cute little cartoon-y bee on it, in honor of the imminent arrival of my three pounds of honeybees. In considering the octopus, I specifically did not want a cartoon, but when I saw this bee, I fell in love with it. Poor Joyce, I know she put a lot of work into my octopus and then I fell for a knock-off bee!

Laina then heard about all of this and decided to give me the tattoo for my birthday. So on a sunny Sunday afternoon, we traipsed on down to Feelin’ Lucky Tattoo in Eustis. I wish they had a website but they don’t. So I’ll just tell you Randy’s appearance scared me at first but he quickly had me relaxed and laughing. Ryan, too, was really funny.

I was impressed at how much preparation goes into making the artwork for a tattoo, and how much the tattoo artist talks to you beforehand to put you at ease, and how hard they will work to come up with a design that meets your needs in terms of looks, cost, and symbolism. Shoot, no symbolism is involved in my tattoo, it’s just a cute bee, but Laina’s tattoo is a memorial to her dad, and Ryan worked with her to get it just right (and it is; it is gorgeous!).

So, okay, you want to know: 1) Did it hurt? No, not really, although I wouldn’t say it was exactly pleasant. Like a cat scratch, I heard before we started, and that’s pretty accurate. Some parts were really painless and other parts…let’s just say I was very aware that getting a tattoo is, after all, invasive. 2) Am I sorry? Nope. In fact, I’m already planning my next tattoo. 3) Where is it? It’s on my chest, modestly concealed when I’m in public, brazenly on display when I’m in a bathing suit. 4) How is it healing? GREAT! I’ve had no problems at all with pain, swelling or itching. Right now it’s at the flaky point and I can see my bee’s little pink cheeks again, so I’ll be glad when this phase is over and I can really appreciate how cute it is. 5) What if I regret it later? Oh, golly…I guess I’ll just deal! How many of us are unfortunate enough to live a life free of regrets? At least this will be a victimless regret. But I really don’t see that happening. 6) Can you see it? Maybe. I’ll probably add a photo when I’m totally healed. 7) What will your next tattoo be? I don’t know…maybe the red octo!

 

8 Responses to “In Which the Wordstress Experiences a Whole ‘Nother Style of Pen”

  1. Sandra Says:

    Congratulations. Tattoo for you, and my son’s. It’s not something I ever wanted but I applaud your adventure and follow through. Ow is what I say. I’m not a big fan of pain. But once again I applaud you.

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      Never say never! It’s really not painful…more like irritating. Of course, I’m easily irritated, as we all know.

  2. Sandra Says:

    Never say never makes me think. I was standing by Dustin’s bed in intensive care. His brain was swelling and he was in a coma. Tubes everywhere, machines pushing oxygen in his lungs, machines beeping. I was talking to him because I knew he could hear me. We had Bob Marley music playing on a CD, as he had just come back from a trip to Jamaica with his friends. I promised him if he came back and got better, we would all go to jamaica and I would even smoke a tubie (is that right?) with him. Haven’t made the trip yet but Never say Never.

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      Now, THERE is a blog entry that needs to be written!

      Thank goodness he heard you over all that machinery. Sometimes ICU is the noisiest place imagineable, sometimes the quietest.

  3. becky Says:

    WOW!….I secretly want one, but my hubbie and children would be totally offended…my son (yes, my sixteen year old baby boy)was just discussing wanting one as a graduation present….that gave mother a mnor stroke…I must say he has good taste though…it’s a graphic of a snarling wolf head in black, grey and slate blue………..that’s one for dicussion

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      Ask him if he wouldn’t rather have a cute lil honeybee.

      Now, let’s all take turns guessing what his answer will be!

      If you got one, what would it be?

  4. Alex Says:

    Like the universe needed ANY MORE PROOF that my mom is cooler than I am. Sheesh! :>


Leave a Reply

