The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

In Which Food Issues Nearly Kill the Wordstress March 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 8:01 pm
Tags: , , ,

Folks, it can happen at any time. I was minding my own business, nursing my third margarita and eating a fajita my husband had rolled up for me. I was laughing because I had queso on my hand, and the next thing I know, I was choking.

Talk about scary! My throat was trying to swallow and it kept feeling like any second I’d be able to breathe, but I couldn’t. People knew something was wrong, but for what seemed like several minutes they were just looking, trying to figure out if I needed help, and of course, I couldn’t ask because I was choking. One friend was getting ready to help but then I coughed and she said, “Oh, she coughed. She must be okay because you can’t cough if you’re choking.”

I’ve always heard that, but all I could think was, “Dammit, can’t you see I’m choking?” Trust me, you can cough if you are choking. Or maybe you can be choking, then stop long enough to give a weak cough, and then immediately go back to choking. I don’t know. But however it works, I coughed and was still choking.

Finally Joyce came up and did the Heimlich. Two good thrusts and this tiny little piece of fajita came up. How embarassing!

All I can say is, I’m glad I have smart friends and I’m glad Joyce didn’t mess around and just stepped up and saved my life. Much more standing around discussing and I think I would have passed out. Join me in a prayer of thanksgiving for the right people in the right place at the right time and for Dr. Heimlich!

So, Joyce, if you’re reading this, thank you so much. Have a wonderful visit with your son, but don’t be gone too long because I obviously need you in my life.

I was going to make a crack about things going down hill once you turn 50 but I got lucky Sunday morning so it’s too soon to say how 50 is going to be, you know?

 

3 Responses to “In Which Food Issues Nearly Kill the Wordstress”

  1. becky Says:

    HOLY CRAP…how scary was that! See….God does put the right people in the right places at the right time. Now the question is…..What message did he need to send to you to have to go to such drastic measures to get your attention?

  2. Alex Says:

    Take smaller bites, probably.

    Which Jennelle women are BAD at, but it’s kind of a cool message when you think about it from the “what does God mean by this” angle. Good point, Becky!

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      I think he was telling me getting queso all over yourself is not funny enough to laugh about. It wasn’t a message about the size of my bites…it was pretty small piece of food; when I saw it in the napkin I couldn’t believe that a) I had actually taken such a tiny bite of something so delicious and b) that something so small could have killed me.

      Seriously, I think the message God was sending is “if you ever see someone and think they might need you to give them the Heimlich Maneuver, just do it. Beg forgiveness later if necessary. PS: don’t ever forget how much you need your friends.”

      Because NO ONE THOUGHT I WAS CHOKING except Joyce. I’m not being critical of anyone who didn’t understand what was happening because until I thought I might pass out my thought was “omg, this is so embarrassing! I don’t want people to know I’m choking.”…then it became “omg, this could be the big IT, why can NO ONE realize I’m choking?”. I just want to empower people to do what they need to do and not worry about being wrong — Joyce told me this is the second time she has been the only one to recognize that someone was choking. So it must not look like we think it looks.

      No. Wait. Do you think the message might have been about margaritas?


Leave a Reply

