The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

In Which the Wordstress is Overwhelmed March 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 7:52 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Yesterday was my birthday. Alex and Steve and some of my friends got together to give me the grandest party I think I’ve ever had (short of my wedding and baby shower).

I am going to take this opportunity to say that I have the greatest friends in the world. I will put up some pictures later, but for now you will just have to imagine me making a duck beak with the cheddar cheese Pringles. Sober.

There was so much good food even I was not able to try everything. Sandra brought her crack dip and made me a strawberry shortcake, Joyce brought homemade salsa that had such a great bite to it, I don’t know, there was just a ton of food and it was all good.

Theresa gave me a themed gift bag of all back to the earth stuff, including a subscription to Mother Earth News. I’m embarrassed to list everything because you’ll think I’m bragging but this part IS bragging: just when I thought there couldn’t be another gift (I was not expecting gifts!), Alex suggested that I go check next to the TV, where I found my Wii!

Mmm hmm. You heard right. Somehow, Steve arranged to get a Wii for my birthday. And Alex set it up for me. Here’s the seriously perfect part: it had been set up for at least a day and I didn’t notice. I was so preoccupied with Second Saturday that they could have put an symphony orchestra next to the TV and I probably wouldn’t have noticed.

So, tune in later for pictures and if I don’t answer the phone, I’m probably just refining my Mii or beating the living daylights out of whatever moron has challenged me to a boxing match. I have a wicked right hook.

And I do believe I will start celebrating my 50th birthday on the 15th of every month for the rest of my life. I love you guys!

PS: My e-mail box had a pleasant surprise this morning and then today’s postal mail had a priority envelope addressed to me. I got not one, but TWO packets of Cock Flavoured Soup. Folks, it’s a sweet life, but someone’s got to live it.

 

2 Responses to “In Which the Wordstress is Overwhelmed”

  1. Alex Says:

    What my mom modestly did not mention is that she is freaking DYNAMITE at Wii Sports bowling. She looks all professional doing it, too.

    And if the AI on the other side of the tennis court weren’t such a suuuuuuuuhlattern mom’d be great at that too.

  2. eastlakecounty Says:

    Oh, my. My daughter thinks I look like a professional bowler. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

