The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

International Women’s Day March 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 8:31 am
Tags: , , ,
I Love Women!

I Love Women!

Since 1911, March 8 has been International Women’s Day. There are still people who wonder why we still need to bring attention to the status of women, especially here in the enlightened United States, so here is one single fact that may help explain: Of the 37 million people living in poverty in these United states, 21 million are women.

I see more and more the greatness of the women around me, women who are living rich lives of courage and spirit in spite of obstacles that would discourage lesser people. I want to celebrate them. These are women who are caring for their families and the greater world family, women who educate, heal and share their energy and faith in a myriad of ways, women who maintain a positive attitude and keep moving forward in the face of a world that seems to be intent on squashing them.

What women do you want to celebrate? How can we celebrate each other? Do you believe that observations like International Women’s Day are irrelevant?

 

4 Responses to “International Women’s Day”

  1. Sandra Says:

    Since moving to Lake county I have met these women. It’s what makes me love living here. Thanks for writing this, I’d like to think I am of the many women you are writing about. It keeps me going with all the support and strength I get from you and these women.

  2. eastlakecounty Says:

    You bet you are, and how lucky are we to know so many others!

    I’m really serious about finding ways to celebrate each other. Let’s talk about it over margaritas…soon.

    (Thanks for reading!)

  3. Alex Says:

    I’d want to celebrate the women who impress me positively. I think any real celebration requires party hats, but beyond that we can play it by ear.

    The last question really got me thinking. Possibly due to your example and the time and place I was born, I don’t feel the least bit limited as a complete-chromosome-set carrier. Honestly when I saw the holiday on my calendar I couldn’t remember celebrating it before. And I wondered (doubted) if it’s celebrated or known in countries where women don’t even dare to dream of the things we pity them for being unable to attain.

    It’s not like I’m doing anything to fix the situation, but I feel like the people in the enlightened US you mention would make better use of their time by attacking things like poverty, the lack of clean drinking water… I think all major people problems like that are equally deserving of being brought to light, and for me the sixteen million males living in poverty are of equal concern.

    I don’t think for a second they aren’t for you as well, I think I’m just interpreting the same facts with different emphasis. It was nice to see a post about this and I’m glad you’re my mom and that I can be smug about being a young woman because you’ve never considered an alternate way for me.

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      I want to be absolutely clear, without being argumentative because this isn’t an argument (I just think you should think just like I do since you know, I did go through that little 28 hour labor, not that I’d ever use it to guilt you in any way, but there it is, it happened and it just can’t be ignored) that of course the 16 million men in poverty are an issue for me. But one argument that’s often used to smackdown vocal feminists is “well what about all the men who “… I was once in a protracted forum debate with someone who felt that I should not be talking about rape because he had been raped, so rape should not be an issue of concern for women. Huh?

      My point is simply that clearly women have not achieved equality yet and when we pretend that we have all the equality we need, we’re dropping a ball that needs to be carried. International Women’s Day is a big deal even though we don’t make much of it in our circle. Try this: http://www.internationalwomensday.com/

      I love you forever and I’ll like you for always, kid. Thanks for reading!


Leave a comment