The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

NEWSFLASH: I am married to and mother of the winners of the 2009 Eustis GeorgeFest Shopping Cart Race February 28, 2009

Have I mentioned lately that my family rocks? WOOT! Steve and Alex were TaxMan and Schedule C (a much underappreciated pair of Super Heroes) and the card decorations looked great. Steve’s treadmilling must be paying off because not only did they look great (Alex had calculators taped to her crash helmet) but they quickly found the shopping item they were assigned to and handily won.

Several non-winners (well, I really don’t want to say losers) were heard complaining that the winning team was running and no one was supposed to run, but it appeared to me that everyone was running equally. Just not equally well. 🙂

If I don’t stop here this will turn into a 1500 word entry and that really wasn’t my purpose. It’s a glorious day outside and Alex and I are off to go rescue some soon-to-be-trashed chicken coop building materials.

I am supposed to be several other places right now, but watch later for a great GeorgeFest entry. We planned to leave right after the 2009 Eustis GeorgeFest Shopping Cart Race but Alex and I got caught up in the excitement of the Dog Jog, and the roads were all blocked off so we ended up staying much longer. I’m so glad we did!

Tomorrow I’ll put up some of the great pictures. Lake County has some great marching bands!

 

5 Responses to “NEWSFLASH: I am married to and mother of the winners of the 2009 Eustis GeorgeFest Shopping Cart Race”

  1. Jason Says:

    Congrats on your win. I am sorry that I missed the event. I had to leave after the parade to go home and get ready for the Citrus Squeeze contest.

    It is shame that you did not stay for the Citrus Squeeze contest at 4:30.

    The City Commissioners almost won, but the Breakfast Club won the crowd favorite vote to tip the win in their favor. It was a very fun and exciting time.

    I am waiting for photos to be sent to me to put up on my site. I did not get the chance to take any myself because I was the emcee for the event.

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      First of all, thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment, which I am sure was totally spontaneous since that is the first requirement of comments on this blog.

      Secondly, I was there screaming and yelling for The Breakfast Club during the first vote (how appropriate that the breakfast club should win an orange juicing contest, no?)! Dave Brooks was absolutely covered in orange pulp. Afterwards we passed and you saw me juggling my lone orange and offered me more….I knew you knew me but I was out of context and we were headed in opposite directions so not to worry.

      The Governed will always (eventually) win out over the Government. GeorgeFest is all about that!

      It was really a magnificent day! GeorgeFest rocks. When your pictures go up, will you come back and post a link here?

  2. Jason Says:

    I had no idea this was your site. I saw your post pop up on my Google alerts when I got home. Shame on me for not reading more of your posts. 🙂

    I guess if I also got up earlier this morning, I would have known it was you when I saw your husband and daughter win their race. I was not on that committee, so I did not know who the entrants were and “Steve and Alex” could have been anyone. 🙂

    And sure, I will let you know when I put the pictures up. Take care.

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      🙂 I come across like a real ass sometimes…I didn’t mean it that way! Of course Steve and Alex could have been anyone! I just figured everyone must know the fabulous Jennelle Clan was kicking butt and taking names at GeorgeFest. I have this terrible tendency to consider myself the absolute center of the universe…it’s ALL about me.

      You mean you just found this without being directed by a mutual friend? You read my blog even though you didn’t know it was me? Jason, you JUST MADE MY WHOLE DAY! You are the first person to leave a (non-spam) comment who wasn’t on my original list of readers! So you get a DOUBLE thank you! I figured someone we both know had mentioned this entry to you. The blogosphere is not as large a place as I had feared, I guess.

  3. […] my attention.  I’m not a fan of crowds, but this year Steve and Alex were competing in the shopping cart race.  You may remember, if you’re a regular reader, that they won this race, using superior […]


Leave a Reply

