The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

March 19: Dixie in the Dust February 11, 2009

Filed under: writing — eastlakecounty @ 11:20 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This post is for the benefit of my dear friend, Jim (Jim and I have been friends since we were 14 and 17…and you know I’m almost old so that’s a srsly long time!).   I told him if he didn’t write 5o pages under the title Dixie in the Dust by March 18, I would post something under the title on the 19th. 

Now I am going to spend the rest of my life in mortal fear that someone will issue a challenge like this to ME.  Maybe THAT would get the writing done.

But truly, isn’t Dixie in the Dust just too good a title to waste?  I can see the cover…it’s an old farmhouse in Alabama….a long shot from the end of a long dusty driveway…and since it’s MY imagination, you know there are a few chickens in the foreground.  Yep, there they are…right in front of the fence!

Welp, there you have it.  Good luck, Jim!  Love ya still, after all this time.

 

10 Responses to “March 19: Dixie in the Dust”

  1. Jim Says:

    I like it, Cutie Hottie… But where does this story go from here?

    =)

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      Uh…Cutie Hottie? I don’t think even Sarah Palin responds well to that kind of talk.

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      Sorry…I was so startled by the “cutie hottie” thing that I didn’t answer your question, Jim!

      All I have of the story is a title and the book cover (and really, isn’t that the most important part? Who cares what the story’s about…just show me the finished product!). It’s up to you to write the 50 pages.

      Or else. 🙂

  2. Alex Says:

    Sarah Palin probably responds to EXACTLY that kind of talk.

    I like Dixie in the Dust, but for me the cover is looking forward from the backseat of a car and seeing that same farmhouse (and the same chickens!) in the rearview mirror. :>

  3. Maya Says:

    Pam, maybe you could also help me w/ a country song I started about 15 years ago. I’ve gotten as far as the title, ‘I’m Just Roadkill On the Highway of Your Love’, after that writer’s block struck with a vengence.

    I’m sure our collaboration will result in a guaranteed hit.

    By the way, I hope you can write music and play an instrument because I have been having trouble learning to play my instrument of choice, the Kazoo. Very tricky those kazoo lessons.

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      I think a good book topic would be “titles of things Maya and Pam are going to write about someday”.

      Please schedule a meeting (which should involve sitting in a kayak in that secret lagoon) for the two of us tout de suite.

  4. Alex Says:

    Mom, I will totally send you to that meeting with a shoebox guitar. I want you to do well!

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      I think a poorly played shoebox guitar and kazoo will make a lovely sound in the peaceful wilderness of Big Pine Key. I can hear it now!

      Oh, wait. That was the trash compactor out behind the grocery store.

      Anyway, I think a shoebox guitar and a kazoo, both played equally badly, will at the very least keep the mosquitoes at bay. Even BPK mosquitoes!

  5. Maya Says:

    Ok, kayaking/story writing/song writing trip is currently being planned. I am practicing the kazoo w/ renewed enthusiasm as can be measured by the increase in my dogs’ howls.

    Pam, do you make your own shoebox guitar or are you bringing one that’s store boughten? Also, is it waterproof in case of unforeseen kayaking mishaps?

  6. eastlakecounty Says:

    It was my understanding that Alex was going to build me a shoebox guitar. I could be wrong, and I strongly suspect that anything made out of a shoebox will not be as watertight as it would be if it were made out of actual shoes.

    Kayaking/story writing/song writing is actually rather cumbersome. What do you think about setting Dixie in the Dust to music so that it becomes a simple kayaking/song writing trip? It might save several hours in the planning of the thing.

    Hey, totally serious here: I DID return your phone call but you didn’t return my return. I don’t want to pout about it because I’m currently pouting about several other things, but I just wanted to point it out.


Leave a Reply

