The Wordstress Blog

The Wordstress ponders the birds and the bees.

Hi. I’m almost 50. February 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eastlakecounty @ 2:15 am
Tags: ,
         The envelope from AARP, addressed to me. It’s here. There’s no hiding it: I’m turning 50 next month.

It’s not like I mind. Turning 30 was one of the best things that’s happened to me. I discovered myself in feminism, grew into motherhood and marriage (how nice, since I had been married 9 years and a mom for four!), and discovered a passion for community. So I’ve actually been looking forward to this birthday, because who knows what superpowers I will discover as I reach this milestone!

But here’s the thing. Can’t we just forget about the “over the hill” jokes, cards, and balloons? It’s obvious from the speed with which life is happening that I’m on the downside of the hill, and my hair has been silver for I’m not really sure how many years already. Can’t we just observe this birthday with a measure of gravitas?

Maybe a nice strawberry cake and a margarita or two in the company of some good friends would be nice. Someone praying a blessing over my head for another few years of joy in this world before I move on to the ultimate joy in the next.  I don’t want to plan a party for myself because I was brought up to believe that planning your own party is an act of barbarity. So I’ll take what comes my way. I just hope it’s not black balloons and plastic walkers.

I’ll let you know what happens.

 

2 Responses to “Hi. I’m almost 50.”

  1. Joanna Says:

    OMG! I just realized that I’ve committed not one, but several, acts of barbarity!
    Girlfriend, I love you so much! Go ahead and plan your own party. I’ve done it a few times and had more fun than I can imagine, including and especially the one with you!
    Still can’t stand the thought of planning your own party? Slip me your guest list and I’ll enlist the “committee” to throw a shindig replete with strawberries and margaritas. There may even be a certain little mexican place in town that wouldn’t mind having us there! As a matter of fact, the name is Fiesta Grande, which translates to “Big Party!” Woo Hoo! Let’s go for it!
    Love you!

    • eastlakecounty Says:

      Your willingness to to protect my innocence by planning a party for me is inspiring but not at all what I was aiming for. 🙂 I just don’t want black balloons, that’s all.


Leave a Reply

